My Heart Pocket

I must say thank you  to the wonderful Jennifer Bullis for her inspiring tribute, created in response to a series of art work I did in which I posed the question ‘What Would Fall Out If The Heart Were A Pocket and We Were Each Turned Upside Down?’

Please pop over at her blog Poetry at the Intersection of Mythology and Hiking to read her work and see her poem, a poem that installed a sweet ache in my own heart……… What Would fall Out, If The Heart Were A Pocket, and We Were Each Turned Upside Down’

Dare I pose the question, dear readers; what are you keeping in your pockets?

 

My Heart Pocket

 

Little things,

that fit

in the deepest spots

the sweetest spots.

Big things that shouldn’t and can’t but do,

things bigger than even I.

And now with the rushing and flooding

of life gathering under the crown,

of gems past, present and

tomorrow’s sun,

alongside the shoving and pooling

of desperate rust and magenta survival,

there is a tinkling and a thudding,

a shining and a burrowing.

A pyramid of sugar

of slowly melting crystal

beneath

my upturned gaze.

 

17 thoughts on “My Heart Pocket”

  1. Arna, this is simply gorgeous. I’m so glad you took inspiration from your own series of paintings to write this poem! I love all the sensory images,especially “the pyramid of crystal.” And another magnificent artwork with it in your “Houdini” piece.

    What a spacious place the heart turns out to be!

    My gratitude to you for generously placing a signpost to my poem here. And above all, I thank you for the inspiring beauty of your own work & words.

    Like

    1. thanks!
      it is an interesting concept I think, originally I was interested in the secrets and the denials that we push down or put away….now I think it might be a little/big pocket for everything!

      Like

  2. This is great. My favorite line is “alongside the shoving and pooling / of desperate rust and magenta survival”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

