The Shame Game

 

A game of shame

a shame game.

Solitaire.

I’m game if you’re game

are you (game)

little rabbit?

Can two play?

Dirty names

Sick, lame, filthy, fat,

 shame

I’ll show you yours, if you show me mine,

SHAME

that is.

My secret

consciousness

MINE

alone

Small and smelly

down

beneath

From mother to daughter

I do bequeath:

the shame of before

under the floor

close to shore

go to war.

I am

shame,

always the same.

I’ll show you the rules of this tight little game

COME ON

play with me!

It’s not so fun without the pain,

always the same

all ways the same.

~

~

 shame finger pointed

 a smoke screen activated

two can

not play

shame,

a

 personal

denial.

only one may decide

only one

can play.

Shame

a

personal

hand

held to chest

a flush

of love

of self

What AM I

?

24 thoughts on “The Shame Game”

  1. This was a really interesting poem. I could be wrong (I often am), but I thought this was about masturbation, and how we’re supposed to be ashamed of sexuality, etc. If I read it wrong, I apologize. I very much like the rhythm and sound and the vertical shape of the poem. It’s one of those poems that you read twice and then some. Thanks for posting.

    Like

    1. it is about everything we call shameful, masturbation is definitely high on that list! and the poem works in that way….the aloneness but for our willing bed partner shame…..
      I was also thinking about how we so easily say ‘thats a shame’ when something isn’t what we think it should be
      and how very personal shame is….thanks for spending time with my words, I am always interested in others interpretations! great x

      Like

  2. The devil within us all as we pass our shameful believes and ideals down from generation to generation if we don’t break the cycle. Using our bodies as a personal playground definitely is a devil’s deed among many other deeds we do in a day.🙂

    Like

    1. i think the thought or pain that drives an act is the thing to be considered…..releasing ourselves from fabricated bonds and passing freedom to be love through the b=generations has GOT to be more powerful!

      Like

      1. Love is definitely more powerful then that demon with in us and the devil’s deeds because God is Love. If we pass love and release ourselves from the bonds that tie us to the demons then we are in turn defeating our demons and breaking the cycle, except, everyone has a different idea of what love is. Sometimes one persons love is another person’s bondage

        Like

      2. mostly! I believe we are always, to a degree, bound when we adhere to another’s idea of love or anything…self-awareness and conscious choice play a huge part in our personal freedom!

        Like

  3. Very interesting! And true… it is solitary and personal whether we try to make others feel it or they try to make us. Deep. Hmmh… now you have me wondering what I am ashamed about.🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    Love the painting!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

