Ivory Elephant (again)

 

If you let someone love you will they wander off?

will they

get lost

or side tracked,

like I did when I was three at the market?

a tiny ivory elephant was

my desire

then,

the square of soap that smelt of sandalwood.

My loves, my treasure.

If I am someone’s

ivory elephant

will they leave me?

to fall through the cracks

in the back seat of a purple station wagon

maybe…..

and maybe they will remember me one day,

maybe they will remember me fondly.

283841_10151574572848290_1237068329_n

24 thoughts on “Ivory Elephant (again)”

    1. well if you like it that much I will add it as an available print, I like your taste🙂

      there are merry month of May sales on at the moment… not to be a salesman but if you do wish to buy … there is a buy an original get a surprise artwork in your package OR buy two prints get a third free🙂 just message me with the number of your third choice…x

      Like

      1. Excellent…now tell me how to where to order it…didn’t see it on your page that I looked at before…thanks…also down load the pdf book.

        Like

  1. Reblogged this on Salty Pinches and commented:
    This subtle poem from silver poetry blog moved me very much. I found it very poignant to consider our own vulnerability and the possibility that we could become a white elephant for someone.

    Like

  2. I love this poem and the painting accompanying it beyond words. There is something so delicate and fragile about it … and yet, there’s a sense of strength and hope, too.

    This part: “If I am someone’s

    ivory elephant

    will they leave me?

    to fall through the cracks

    in the back seat of a purple station wagon”

    It’s so beautiful — it just gives me chills.

    Thank you so much for this beautiful poem.

    Like

    1. Thnkyou, I think it is a realisation of the irony of life and love and the truth that we ‘ourselves’ are our own best bet…. maybe by developing trust in the self we can truly feel safe and secure in an insecure world🙂
      shrug… who knows

      Like

  3. Who could forget you? I have to say, though, that it is sheer brilliance to have woven a poem about the possibility of being forgotten around an elephant…notorious for their long memories.🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

